Whoo…I’m back

I apologize for the long absence. These past few weeks have been a whirlwind of activities, of emotions and of….uh…things. Over a short time, my schedule changed, was adjusted, was edited and was changed again. I switched focus in terms of issues I want to study, I was deeply infatuated with someone and lost interest. All things, while trying to figure out what type of legacy I would like to leave after I leave Cornell, as well as the path(s) ahead of me. Needless to say, there’s been no time to blog. Ok, after taking such a long time to explain myself, I’ll move on.

If there’s one thing I learned about myself this week, it’s that: it’s really, really hard to do something that I don’t want to do. Like studying for a subject that doesn’t really passionate me like Economics of Health Policy. I procrastinated so much when I should have been hard at work studying. I procrastinated so much, that I was only able to cover the issues that we talked about over and over in class. Of course, the test had to cover the articles I didn’t look over. 15  points gone just like that!

With Fall Break here, I’m re-thinking my strategies for motivating myself to study for those classes I’m not particularly passionate about. I couldn’t come up with anything until I ran into this post on Study Hacks: The Grade Whisperer: Ron’s Feeble Focus. My favorite quote from the post:

(Wo)Man Up: Finally, you need to recognize that throughout life you’re going to have to do work that you don’t want to do. This is perhaps the defining trait of being an adult. College is as good a time as any to recognize this fact, man up (or woman up, as the case may be), and just do it, even if you don’t want to. You’re not sixteen and living at home anymore…

Leave a Reply

